Here is a short collection of links to articles on world trade. We hope these will give the reader more background on the subject of the evolving regionalization underway in the world.

Background, creation, purpose and history

China, Asean to advance free trade  By Sun Shangwu (China Daily)


ASEAN+China, Japan, ROK (10+3) summit held

“ASEAN Plus Three – Perspectives of Regional Integration in East Asia and the Lessons from Europe 30 November – 1 December 2003 - Seoul, Korea

Tibet to attend 3rd China-ASEAN Expo [No longer available]


(GCC Home Page)

(GCC Charter)

The Economic Agreement Between the GCC States

  • The Kingdom of Jordan:  Foreign Ministry: Trade Overview [No longer available]

  • Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA) 1 January, 2005


    1. Jordan

    2. Bahrain

    3. United Arab Emirates

    4. Tunisia

    5. Saudi Arabia

    6. Syria

    7. Iraq

    8. Oman

    9. Qatar

    10. Kuwait

    11. Lebanon

    12. Libya

    13. Egypt

    14. Morocco

    15. Sudan

    16. Yemen

    17. Palestine

    Possible future members:

    18. Comoros

    19. Djibouti

    20. Mauritania

    21. Somalia

    The Arab League has a long history of trying to foster trade and economic cooperation among its member states, with several initiatives takes in the 1950s and 1960s.

    In 1981, an agreement to facilitate and promote inter-Arab trade was signed, but to little effect.

    In February 1997, the League decided to create an Arab Free Trade Area, also known as the Greater Arab Free Trade Area or the Pan-Arab Free Trade Area, by 2008. This would be achieved through a 10% reduction in customs fees each year as well as the gradual elimination of trade barriers. Eighteen of the 22 Arab League states signed on to this agreement, which came into force on 1 January 1998.

    In March 2001, it was decided to speed up the liberalisation process, and on 1 January 2005 the elimination of most tariffs among the GAFTA members was enforced.

    The 17 states that are members of GAFTA are: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Others are in the process of joining.